Adventures With Autism and Adopting a Healthier Lifestyle

No yeast, no eggs, no gluten, etc. – surprisingly good. It’s very similar to the bread called “wheat bread,” but obviously, isn’t. 😉

NOTE: Please read the whole entry before trying it. 😉

Start by mixing 3/4 cup warm-hot water with 4 tbs ground flax seed. Blend until smooth. Set aside to form an egg-like gel (I usually leave it while I do the rest).

These ingredients go into a bread machine in this order:

*1 cup warm water
1 Tbs vinegar (I used white distilled, but apple cider would be healthier)
3 Tbs oil of choice (I like coconut oil – melted, or olive)

1/4c almond flour
1/4c buckwheat flour
1/4c flax meal
*1/4c cornstarch (if you’re corn free, I’d imagine arrowroot, potato or tapioca starches would work – or rice flour)

1 1/2 c Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free all-purpose baking flour (garbanzo bean flour, potato starch, tapioca flour, white sorghum flour, fava bean flour)

1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
2 tsp xanthan gum

Pour in flax gel from first step.

I have a Sunbeam 5891 bread maker, and I use the “basic” setting, out of habit, really. The “quick” setting works well for GF breads, as well, especially this one without yeast.

Even though this is a small-ish loaf, I use the 2 lbs. setting, as GF breads tend to be more “wet” and need the extra cooking time. I set the crust to “medium” for the same reason.

*NOTE: This had a small gummy spot when I cut into the “tallest” part, so I placed the slices into the oven at 250 degrees (F) for about 10 minutes. I usually freeze and toast GF breads anyway, so I guess it wouldn’t have mattered much.

Next time, I’d do a tablespoon of coconut flour (or two of starch) to dry it out a bit. Or, cut the water to 3/4 cup.

Leave a Reply

