Adventures With Autism and Adopting a Healthier Lifestyle

Mommy’s makeup madness

Ever since Emily’s Autism diagnosis last year (it’ll be one year on August 29th), I’ve become pretty much obsessed with researching Autism and implementing a more natural way of life for the household. I’ve replaced many cleaning products with simple things like vinegar and/or baking soda, Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soaps… and so on.

Since we are planning on trying for one more child, I figured the fewer chemicals on and in mommy, the better. I shudder to think about all I put on and took in when I was pregnant for Emily. And I thought I was being so “careful.” Ugh. I avoided all the obvious stuff: drinking, drugs, taking up smoking… you know. However, in my quest to avoid sugar (I’m Type-2 Diabetic and it was even harder to control while pregnant), I took in a lot of fake stuff. Fake sugars, flavors, colors… *sigh*

ANYway, replacing my skin care and cosmetics has been my mission over the past few months. Thankfully, I was already a fan of mineral makeup, so that makes it a bit less stressful. I like the natural “my skin but better” look for everyday; however, replacing my fuller coverage “I look like makeup” regimen for special occasions is my new obsession.

So, I’ll be posting about that topic here now, as well. I’m making it a “category,” so the cosmetic and skin care-related posts will be more separated from the directly Emily-related ones. 🙂

If any of you are on a similar quest to replace your chemical-laden “beauty products,” I hope you will enjoy these posts and maybe get some answers you’re seeking, as well.

Leave a Reply

