Adventures With Autism and Adopting a Healthier Lifestyle

Original recipe from:
Gluten-Free Makeovers, but you know me, I had to experiment a bit. 😉

I didn’t include the chicken soup part here, as I figure most of you probably already have a “go-to” recipe of your own for that and you’re all about the dumplings. Right? Right. Okay. Let’s do this! 😉


Two cups of a GF flour blend. I used…

    1 cup brown rice flour
    1/2 c potato starch
    1/4 c tapioca flour/starch
    1/4 c gluten-free cornstarch

    3 teaspoons baking powder
    3/4 tsp salt (that seemed like a lot to me, but they weren’t salty)
    approx 1 1/2 tsp “Italian seasoning” (optional – I may leave it out next time)

    2 tablespoons melted “butter” (I used Earth Balance spread)
    3/4 cup + 2 tbs. “milk” (I used unsweetened almond milk)
    1 large egg, beaten

    NOTE: I noticed in the footnotes of the original recipe, it says to add 1 tsp. of xanthan or guar gum to the flours, but I didn’t notice that until after I made them. They did fine without it, but I imagine it would be even better with it. I’ll include it next time and let you know how much difference it made.

    I mixed the dry ingredients in a large bowl, then mixed the liquid ingredients in the large coffee mug in which I’d melted the “butter” (almond milk first, to cool it before putting the egg in). Then I poured the liquid into the dry, and stirred enough to fully combine.

    I made a basic chicken and veggie soup as a base, but these would work with a lot of different things (like beef stew). You want to have it hot enough to keep steaming the dumplings, but not a rolling boil, because they will fall apart (they have to be cooked more gently than standard ones). Just a slight bubbling.

    Drop (I “slid,” technically) rounded spoonfuls of batter into the soup. I used a standard flatware “teaspoon,” because they puff up quite a bit. You will probably need to make the dumplings in two batches (I did) to avoid over-crowding the pot. NOTE: I put the batter in the refrigerator in between batches and the second batch was absolutely perfect. So, maybe placing the batter in the refrigerator (or letting it stand a few minutes) is a good idea. 😉

    Cook for 15 minutes with the lid on the whole time (no peeking, or they don’t come out right).

Leave a Reply

